Bell Earns First-Team All-Horizon League Honors
Sophomore Laurie Bell

Sophomore Laurie Bell

Nov. 5, 2012

MILWAUKEE - Sophomore Laurie Bell of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee men's soccer team has been named a member of the All-Horizon League First-Team, the league office announced this afternoon.

Four players were honored overall, with junior James Ashcroft and freshman Declan Rodriguez picking up second-team accolades. In addition, Rodriguez and freshman Aaron Horvat each earned spots on the Horizon League All-Newcomer Team.

Bell continues to be among the Horizon League leaders in points (second with 21), goals (tied for third with eight) and assists (tied for the league lead with five) following UWM's last outing. He has started all 17 games and also leads the league with 58 shots. He is the first UWM sophomore to earn first team honors since Steve Bode in 2005.

With a goal and assist against Valparaiso Nov. 3, Bell pushed his season totals to eight goals, five assists and 21 points. That marked the first UWM player to record 20-plus points since Neil Dombrowski had 23 in 2005. Bell's eight goals are also the most since the same season when Dombrowski had nine.

Ashcroft has started 16 of the 17 games in his usual spot on the back line of defense. In addition to the 12 shots and one assist that he has recorded, he has helped a UWM defense that has posted four shutouts this season and five other matches where it gave up just one goal.

Rodriguez has also started 16 of 17 games in 2012, with his 1,541 minutes coming mostly as a defender and the total minutes the most of any UWM newcomer this season. He did not take long to make an impression as a Panther, scoring goals in each of his first two games to become the fourth freshman since 2000 to score in the season opener. He also became just the second-ever freshman to score in the first two games of the season.



Horvat stands third on the team in scoring with two goals and three assists, including the game-winner against Omaha. He has also recorded 44 shots - a total that ranks second on the squad and fourth in the Horizon League.

Player of the Year: Adam Bedell, Detroit
Offensive Player of the Year: Adam Bedell, Detroit
Defensive Player of the Year: Cam Eisses, Cleveland State
Goalkeeper of the Year: Kyle Zobeck, Valparaiso
Newcomer of the Year: Brett Elder, Wright State
Coach of the Year: Ali Kazemaini, Cleveland State

UWM opens postseason play Tuesday night at Valparaiso University, set for a 7:30 p.m. start.

Panther Profiles
Andrew Automotive colectivo Army ROTC Gruber Law Offices Courtyard Marriott Mueller Sports Medicine Northwestern Mutual Sendik's Food Markets Wisconsin National  Guard
Bubb's BBQ Carmel Builders EatStreet Fire Ridge Country Club FunDeco Impact Jimmy John's Klement's Major Goolsby's Pizza Hut Qdoba Sherwin-Williams UWM Bookstore Via Downer Alumni Association Coach USA Radisson Eggers
UWM Horizon League NCAA adidas WISN-AM 1130 WOKY-AM 920 Time Warner Sports 32